Ensemble Barcelona Nova Música


Founded in 1998, Ensemble Barcelona Nova Música is an original, international and intercultural new music group based in Barcelona. The members have in common their interest and experience in many styles of music from many cultures. In one moment it can be an avantgarde jazz/rock group to turn in the next moment into a very precise classical new music ensemble or even authentique barroque ensemble.

The group likes to work closely with interested composers from all parts of the world. Most of the pieces of the group’s repertoire are especially composed or arranged.

The following composers wrote for the group: Gabriel Brncic, Albert Sardà, Albert Llanas, Augustín Charles, Xavier Benguerel, Anna Cazurra, Jesús Rodroguez Picó, Jesus Torres, José Iges, Wiek Hijmans, Chiel Meyering, Peter Bacchus, Marcela Pavía, Sergio Fidemraizer, Domenec de la Rubia and Christiaan de Jong.

The group worked with the following invited musicians: Max Sunyer, Wiek Hijmans, Luc Houtkamp, Robert Dick, Theo Loevendie, Néstor Eidler, Eric Rynes, Ralph van Raat, Ananda Sukarlan, Peter Bacchus, Harry Sparnaay, Franck Vigroux, Wu Wei and Eric Vloeimans.